I finally got around to watching this movie the other day, and I wonder why it took me so long to see it.  I’m going to be so bold as to say it’s one of the best teenage, Friday night comedies we’ve had in recent years.  Granted, the casting did help quite a bit.  Who doesn’t want to watch Emma Stone?  Actually, the entire cast was really well picked, which is rather surprising for this type of movie.  There really isn’t one standout scene, but this is to be expected from this type of movie.  Just look at past movies

oh yeah, Amanda Bynes is also in it

like Weird Science and Revenge of the Nerds, neither of which have one amazing scene, but rather are consistently funny and entertaining throughout.  I’m assuming they were going for this type of vibe since there’s a scene in which John Hughes is referred to along with some of his movies.

Granted, the movie isn’t on the level of timeless classics such as National Lampoon’s Vacation movies (excluding the horrible Vegas vacation), Sixteen Candles, or Planes Trains and Automobiles but in an era where lighthearted comedies are overshadowed by rehashed action movies and often obscene comedies that come off as weak and poorly written simply for shock value it’s nice to see a simple but fun movie emerge.

There was one time that I was kind of waiting for it to end, but it was an “emotional” scene that was needed in order to progress the plot for the main character, so it’s excusable.  Seeing as Iwatched it two days in a row before I had to return it I consider it a winner in my book.  It’s definitely a movie that’s worthy of nearly anyone’s boring weekend.

