While perusing Youtube for live clips I ended up coming upon a full Portishead concert.  I actually forgot how great this band is,  so naturally I had to click on it.  Well, 23 minutes in I’m still listening to it.  Should I probably be asleep right now?  Yeah, probably.  No problem there, after all they are one of the chillest bands around so I’ll probably end up nodding off in a few minutes.

Though, watching/listening to this I think it’s pretty clear they’re the best trip-hop band out there.  Sure, Thievery Corporation are pretty good, but I don’t think there will ever be a band to rival Portishead without actually copying them.  I’m not going to go on about why they’re so great, which is why I’m taking the easy way out and will post the video.

So for anyone looking for something to chill out to or just to find some new tunes (as they recently have released their third album titled “Third,” so clever I know) you may end up liking Portishead quite a bit.

If anything check out around the 59 minute mark for the song “Roads,” as it seems to be their most popular and coincidentally is a very good song (though, it’s very depressing, as is most of the concert).

I’m also going to post their song “Wandering Star,” which is one of my personal favorites.  Though, I don’t advise playing it at an open mic as I did, it really brought down the mood a lot.

Anyway, if you have time give a listen to some of their tunes, who knows, you may end up liking them.

Full Concert:

Wandering Star:

