Well, I think we all realize that the Eagles are pretty much out of the playoffs.  However, today’s game against the Patriots did help clear some things up, or at it did for me.  Vince Young looked rather good today, especially for his second start of the season.  I like how he plays QB by mainly playing QB.  What do I mean by this?  Rather than running around like some other QBs (Vick), Young stays in the pocket and stays calm.  Sure, he had some bad moments, but they weren’t overbearingly bad.  Now, what has Vick done lately?  Well, he won 1-8 of the last home games since Decemeber 3rd, and has only beaten a broken down Rams team and two division teams (one of them being the Redskins).  I’d also like to note that one of his last year December loses came at the hands of a Vikings team that had Joe Webb as the starting QB and looked better than Vick.

What am I getting at with all this?  Vick isn’t looking like the answer as starter.  Am I saying Young is the answer?  What I’ll say is he’s shown to be a lot more stable in the pocket.  He seems to wait for receivers to get open, and by staying in the pocket he’s allowing the offensive line to help him rather than struggle as they do with Vick running around.

So, after beating only one decent team this year (Cowboys), Vick has been everything but impressive.  I realize it’s not all on him, as the defense is rather lacking all around, but at some point he has to be able to put together a game winning drive.

As of right now I’d rather have Young as starter.  He’s proven he can throw the deep ball and with starter receivers he has potential to be very good.  Plus, the season is done so why not see what other options are available?  After all, I look at it that Vick beat one decent team and Young beat one decent team so they’re basically in the same position.

Now, there’s DeSean Jackson.  I’m not going to lie, I am not a fan of him.  Every time I watch him it seems like he’s getting a penalty, showboating, or deciding not to catch passes.  Today he managed to drop two sure touchdowns.  Granted, the Eagles defense probably would have allowed the Patriots to win, but at least it would have brought them back into the game.  The second drop may have been the worst since it was where only he could have gotten it and it was the type of play that would have gotten the fans back into the game (I’ll discuss the fans in a moment).  Does dropping two touchdown catches and taunting coaches (last week vs. the Giants) really warrant a big contract like he wants?  Simply put, I think not.  Not to mention it seems like there are a lot more problems with him in regards to missing meetings and being benched twice this season.  Personally, I’d be fine without him.  Bring in a bigger receiver without a giant ego (this smaller/faster strategy isn’t impressing me much) and get back on track.

OK, the fans were basically horrible today.  First of all, frontrunner Patriots’ fans were everywhere.  I’d like to see where they go when Brady isn’t the QB and the team starts to do bad.  Even the Eagles’ fans were annoying today.  This is something I’ve noticed all season.  It seems like they’re concerned with everything but the game.  Most of them leave as soon as the Eagles get behind and/or are on their phones the whole game for fantasy football.  Don’t even get me started on the constant standing up and down because people need to get food or beer.  Now, I’m not against that, but they’re so out of the game that they walk in front of people while a drive is going on.  Overall, the fans were rather poor today, with many of them leaving at the end of the third quarter and even the parking lot, an hour before the game, wasn’t even close to full.  I guess that’s what separates the true fans from the frontrunners.

I would like to make a note of one thing, and that is Andy Reid.  The “fans” were chanting for him to be fired.  Come on, he’s only had 2 or 3 losing seasons throughout his time here, and do you really want to risk getting new players in the off season and a new coach?  I’m giving him another year or two to see what he’ll do.  However, I (and probably many people) think the defensive coordinator (if you can call him that) has to go, along with Jackson, and I’m tempted to put Vick in that group.

Overall, it was a very disappointing day from the game to the fans.

Oh, and Jackson, how about proving you need to be paid the big money?

(On the plus side, Young and Avant looked like they wanted to win)

