So I have the new patch up and running and got the Back to Karkand DLC to work, at least sort of.  Prior to the patch I was able to play the Back to Karkand maps on normal Conquest and Conquest Assault.  Now, I can only play those maps on Conquest Assault, which wouldn’t be that bad of a thing, but something has gone terribly wrong.  I don’t know if I should blame the players or the new, custom servers.  Regardless, there is a lot of spawn camping going on, which makes Conquest Assault everything but fun.

For anyone who doesn’t know what this is, it has it so that one side already controls all the conquest points from the start of the game, and the other side must go from their base and capture these points from the other team.  The problem is, the team with all the points just chills in front of the other team’s base, and there is a lot of spawn camping going on.  It also seems like teams are a lot less balanced, even on regular Conquest, as the winning team is usually decided within the first few minutes and then the other team just as to wait for the final blow.

Maybe I was just in some bad games, but I find it very disappointing that the patch took away the option to play the Back to Karkand maps on normal Conquest.  With all the custom server stuff going on now, this is even more confusing since it gets rid of an option they could have messed with.  Plus, some of those maps are my favorite, and not being able to play them without being spawn camped isn’t very fun.

So, while the custom servers can be fun to play on, I don’t agree with taking maps away from the normal Conquest mode, and really don’t understand why they would do that.

On a positive note, it is nice to exit a game when in the screen between matches.

As for the other tweaks the patch added, I’m not sure what they are and have not really noticed anything (there is something with the lock on for the Stinger missile not having nearly as good range, but I don’t use them so I cannot comment, but I may try it out just to see how it is).

