Les Miserables.  I’m calling it now.  Yes, The Avengers may bring in more sales, but at the end of the day it is a superhero movie, and will probably be looked at as such when award season comes up (though, it’ll probably win some awards).  I look forward to Prometheus, but really don’t expect it to win any awards.  Pixar’s Brave will probably get an award or two (or however many are related to) animation, as Pixar is nothing short of fantastic with their animation.

Still, I’m confident Les Miserables will win movie of the year, and here’s why:

  • First off, it has a very high profile cast including the likes of Hugh Jackman (Jean Valjean), Samantha Barks (Eponine), Anne Hathaway (Fantine), Russell Crowe (Javert), and the Thenardiers are played by Sacha Baron Cohen and the one-and-only Helena Bonham Carter (I’m getting flashbacks of Sweeney Todd).
  • If you liked The King’s Speech, then you’re in luck, for it’s the same director.
  • Fans of the musical already know this, but for those who don’t know, the music is very moving (which leads to the question, can it be up for an award for best original score if it’s already been in music for years now?).  Simply put, Fantine and Eponine will definitely pull at your heartstrings.
  • It’s more than a musical, it’s a historical film.  It’s dark, gritty, and most of all, mature.  The story is nothing to laugh at (except the Thenardiers, who I reckon were put into it to take a break from the darkness of the overall story) and I guarantee first time viewers will be a bit misty eyed during some of the death scenes.
  • Though this will not matter for movie of the year, it’s worth saying that this movie will appeal to a very large audience.  It seems most musicals will not be listened to by many males, which doesn’t really matter, but Les Miserables doesn’t feel like a typical musical.  This is probably because it’s based on the book by Victor Hugo rather than being cranked out (sorry, that’s how I view most stuff by Andrew Lloyd Webber) or made just for the sake of making a musical (I’m looking at you Spider Man and Shrek).

I honestly believe this will be the movie of the year.  The music, acting, director, and story are all fantastic.  I’m really looking forward to seeing Eponine (a favorite character of mine) on the big screen.  The barricade scenes should be nothing short of brilliant, and there’s a death scene in there that will shock those who have yet to be exposed to the musical or book.

Though, don’t be surprised if people start to sing during “At the End of the Day,” “Do You Hear the People Sing,” “One Day More,” the “Finale,” and countless other songs people will either be mouthing out or singing to themselves.  I wholeheartedly look forward to this, especially going to the midnight release (and the next day, and a few days after that, and yeah, this movie will own my wallet).

The movie of the year will have laughs, action, tears, heartbreak, and fantastic production values that will leave viewers in awe.  I cannot wait to dream a dream, not on my own in a castle on a cloud, though there may be a little fall of rain, it won’t make it a night of anguish, and with each passing day until the movie comes out I must continue telling myself one day more.  (Oh yeah, I just did that)

So what do you think the movie of the year will be?  There’s a lot to choose from, and don’t forget The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey is coming this year (same day as Les Miserables, December 14th), but for the life of me I have no idea why Frodo is in it.

