Yesterday I  posted about History being a pretty pathetic channel, and you know what, it still is.  Now we have their newest show, Picked Off.  It seems the point of the show is for teams of two to go out with a money limit and see who can pick the most valuable item (there’s also a time limit).  The loser team of each round then gets kicked off (oh, I mean picked off) and there’s a $10,000 prize for the winning team.  Basically, it’s American Pickers without the likable cast.  Currently (as the show’s still on) the three items picked are an old Coca-Cola cooler, a train station(?) light, and Midway’s Pong.  I didn’t realize how interesting Mike and Frank are until seeing how boring it is watching other people basically do the same thing.

I’m not a fan of these reality game shows in general. Most of the time it’s annoyingly over hyped throughout, and there are always drums leading up to commercials.  It’s such a soulless show, that it seems like the producers are telling each time what to do and basically holding their hands along the way.  They always end up at the same place, even when they’re free styling.  Then they exchange evil glares and go on their way.  Well most of the time, the rest of the time they’re competing and trying to make it so the other team can’t get a good pick.  It’s just so played up that it’s aggravating.  I don’t even want to talk about this show anymore, there’s really nothing to say.

Why can’t History realize by now that Picker Sisters didn’t work, Cash Cowboys probably won’t work, and I really doubt Picked Off will work.  I have not watch so many bad knockoffs on a single channel in I don’t know how long.  Though, I must say the worst remains the American version of Top Gear, that’s simply painful to sit through (also thanks to History for airing it).

You know, we have History that has no problem airing cheap to make shows like this, and then there’s Fox, that has no problem wasting tons of money on nonsense (Terra Nova) and drops much better shows (Firefly).

I’m convinced America just hates good TV.  Oh well, I guess I’ll go back to watching BBC America and Sherlock.

