Think about it, I’m sure you know people who are anti-TV and anti-video games, with the latter being more common.  They’ll argue these things ruin your mind either by having you zone out and ignore the world around you or turn you into some sort of loser or evil person.  What’s the alternative then?  Well, usually they like to refer to the good old days.  I’m assuming this means reading a book.  Reading a book offers nowhere near the amount of creativity needed when playing a video game.  There is no trial and error, which means no learning.  Yes, you can learn through video games (team work, communication skills, and with games like Portal 2 you have to critically think to solve puzzles), and you know what, they also must be doing something right, just look at their popularity.  I’m not saying books are gone, as I like a good read, I’m simply saying there’s no reason to say video games are evil.

As for TV, well I’ll just say it doesn’t destroy your mind as critics like to say.  Granted, I don’t think watching the Kardashians or plastic housewives of whatever will be beneficial, but there is more to TV than that nonsense.  I recently watched all of Battlestar Galactica (I know, I’m late to the party) and the ending was horrible.  However, this allowed me to realize how connected the show had me to the characters that made me appalled by the ending.  Likewise, Doctor Who has story arcs spanning over multiple seasons, allowing viewers to analyze the episodes and communicate through online forums.  See the pattern here?

These new forms of media are connecting people in ways never before possible.  Sure, the new generations may not care about Shakespeare (who I think is overrated) and Great Expectations, but does that matter?  Honestly, I couldn’t care less about Pip and Miss Havisham, there was no connection there.  I don’t care if they’re deemed classics by scholars, that’s all yesterday’s news.  This leads me to my next point, why are some things considered not as good as others because they’re not classics?

Classic Rock, what in the world makes it classic?  What, it’s old, is that it?  Seriously, listening to Robert Plant wail into a microphone and Jimmy Page sloppily play guitar is not my idea of classic.  How many times can they play the same songs over and over on the radio?  Lynyrd Skynyrd are nothing special, but they don’t go away.  The same goes for newer bands such as Metallica.  I’m sorry, but when I walk into a music store I don’t want to hear the same old nonsense over and over.  Somehow I don’t think in the 70s people were listening to music from the 30s and saying it was the best thing ever (though, I’d argue that there’s a good amount of music from the 30s and 40s that’s better than what’s considered Classic Rock).  Don’t say it’s because there isn’t any good new music, because there is.  Just look at Paloma Faith, Imelda May, Sonata Arctica, Within Temptation, Arjen Lucassen, and so many more.  The problem is, the current generation doesn’t listen to the radio, so they pretty much have to fill it with Classic Rock, and as a result older generations don’t think anything has happened since then.  And I will seriously argue that Lady Gaga is a better musician, singer, and songwriter than the majority of the Classic Rock artists, she’s simply doing shock-rock, just as has been done for many years from Alice Cooper to David Bowie and many more.

Since we’re discussing music, why is metal so bad?  I listen to metal a lot, and I have to say, when listening to a song such as A Sailorman’s Hymn by Kamelot, Say My Name by Within Temptation, Swanheart by Nightwish, and Under Your Tree by Sonata Arctica (possibly the most emotional song about the death of a pet dog in all of music) I don’t see how anyone can say metal is just a bunch of people making loud music and screaming into a microphone.  Sure, there is metal like that, but the reason I hate saying I’m a metal fan is because people think that’s all metal is.  Sure, I may have put down Classic Rock, but I also acknowledge the good bands such as Styx, Queen, and Pink Floyd amongst others.  I’m just tired of people saying all new music is horrible and that Classic Rock is the best.  The same kind of applies for metal, as many don’t know symphonic metal and power metal exist.  I just found a new band last year, Amaranthe, and I can almost guarantee if they had more exposure people would become fans.  It’s a shame that metal is still looked at as either the music of evil or still associated with the 80s.

Essentially, what I’m saying is we need to expand our entertainment minds.  Sure, none of these things are pressing issues, but they’re definitely the easiest of issues that people can be open to.  I’m not asking for massive social change, just a bit of open-mindedness to basic forms of new and old entertainment.

 

