Alright, so I’m just going to say it, Steven Moffat has no clue how to write Doctor Who.  Why am I saying this?  Well, anyone who has followed my blog may know I have found many faults with is writing.  Most recently, this past Christmas special made all of series 7 literally impossible.

But why does that matter?  Now we are stuck with incredibly large plot holes because why in the universe is Clara even a companion now?  Seriously, she’s no longer the impossible girl so the Doctor has no reason to go

Continuity?  I'm sorry, I've never heard of it, what is it?

Continuity? I’m sorry, I’ve never heard of it, is it new?

after her since she never walked into his time stream since he didn’t die at Trenzalore and in fact he prevented Trenzalore from ever burning or having a massive war.  I’m going to try and ignore this was a giant theme for a while now with the Doctor having to die there, but whatever, as we know, Moffat doesn’t care.

Now he goes and says: “I think people have come to think a plot hole is something which isn’t explained on screen. A plot hole is actually something that can’t be explained. Sometimes you expect the audience to put two and two together for themselves. For Sherlock, and indeed Doctor Who, I’ve always made the assumption that the audience is clever.”

Source for above quote

What does this do?  Basically, he’s going on again about how almighty and clever he is and if the audience points out any error with his writing it is the viewer’s fault for being incapable of accepting his lack of sense and continuity.  I don’t know about you, but I find this really offensive, as if he simply cannot admit he messed up and insists on putting the blame on everyone but himself.  I’m sorry, but apparently it’s no big deal to make every Sontaran a complete idiot or to somehow have a lone Silurian wake up and become a crime fighter who just happens to marry some random girl off the street and we just sit and say, oh yeah, that totally makes sense going off the last 50 years of the show’s history, the Doctor’s always having a good laugh with a Sontaran.

Yes, time travel is likely difficult to work with, but let’s take a step back.  Back to the Future deals with all sorts of time travel and paradoxes but it always makes sense how it is explained and the continuity is solid.  Fringe dealt with alternate universes, alternative timelines, alternate universes in alternate timelines, and multiple alternate futures as well as paradoxes throughout.  However, unlike Doctor Who, Fringe writers took the time to make sure everything was laid out and made sense, even bringing back little things throughout past seasons to be really important things in the final season.

But how wrong is Moffat in saying these things?  I enjoy surfing the internet, reading Doctor Who articles (believe it or not I really do love Doctor Who and am really pleased with Peter Capaldi coming to be the 12th or 14th or whatever number Doctor and Clara is absolutely fantastic, she just needs more consistent writing, she was all over the place a lot of series 7, but her sassy/flirty personality is great) and I have found far too many people saying to just accept it, Doctor Who isn’t supposed to make sense, it’s alright, just go with it.  I’m sorry, but I dare you to find me any other show with fans that say to just go with it, sure it may not make sense, but whatever.  I’m actually really surprised to see this with fans of the show, most sci-fi fans I know super analyze their show of choice, picking it apart and getting mad/annoyed at bad writing.  But yet, Moffat has managed to make a whole series impossible and the fan base seems split between caring and not caring.

I’m fine with some things being left up the imagination, but when a major plot point or character or paradox is introduced, you kind of have to explain it, because if not, what was the point of introducing it in the first place?  That’s the problem with Moffat.  He does things in the show and eventually there’s no reason to care about them anymore.  River saying “hello sweetie” every five minutes got old as did her character.  Rory being killed every other episode turned into endless tedium.  The whole deal with the Doctor being the most evil being in all of creation got old as soon as it was said and kept being dragged out for three series.  Literally every episode between “The Bells of Saint John” and “The Name of the Doctor” had nothing to do with the impossible girl story arc or The Great Intelligence, so I was left wondering what I was watching and not caring overly much (which was kind of a shame since there were some pretty good episodes in there).

My expectations are very low for Moffat as he does his same old talk but never proves himself with his writing.  Other writers you never hear a word from, they just let the writing do the talking.  Maybe he should take a step back and read his own scripts before going off on his high horse about how inept the fans are at understanding a story.

