Man, it takes a certain type of smug to say the things Steven Moffat says about his writing on Doctor Who.  In his latest stream of words he goes on to explain how the Doctor doesn’t die at Trenzalore but it’s all good and series 7 can still happen.  Here’s the article, you can read it if you want to.  Though, I think I’ll quickly share his quote just to get it

JK... apparently

JK… apparently

out of the way (note, all credit for the quote goes to the already mentioned article):

“THE DOCTOR: Changing time is tricky. It’s a bit like a detective story: so as long there isn’t an actual body, you’ve got a certain amount of wiggle room – for instance, if the body has, rather conveniently, been burned on a boat in Utah. Here’s the thing: I can change the future so long as the future has not already been established as part of my own past. I can’t rescue Amy and Rory because I already know that I didn’t.”

“But what do I know about Trenzalore? There’s a big monument that looks very like my Tardis. There’s a temporal fissure leading to my timeline. Maybe it’s my grave. Maybe, one day, it’s my burial ground. Maybe it is something else entirely, and we got it all wrong. Don’t know. Don’t plan to find out for as long as possible. The main thing is, Clara still jumped into my time stream, and ended up helping me through all of my life. All that is established, unchanged – but there’s wiggle room!”

Right, that literally cleared nothing up at all.  This still doesn’t clear up why he couldn’t go back and hang out with Amy and Rory or simply drop them back off in that time period after some more traveling with them and then they can still die there.  Speaking of his TARDIS grave, we have another glaring issue.  If you recall, his TARDIS grave had a crack in the window, which we are shown is due to the window cracking when he crashes on Trenzalore.  Cool, except the very next episode there is no crack, so OK, just another continuity issue to throw in the mix.  More importantly, we do know it’s his grave, you know how we know it?  It has been the exact same foreboding thread since series 6.  He lets us know in the last episode of series 7 that he’s buried there because of a war that he dies in on Trenzalore.  He tells Tennant that in the 50th anniversary.  He makes it a point to not start a war there and try to change time in the Christmas episode.  But by changing time his entire future is changed and there’s no time stream for Clara to jump in and be the impossible girl.

Well Moffat, if you “got it all wrong” as you say, then what was the point of series 7?  Perhaps he realized he has no idea how to write Doctor Who and time travel.  He’s basically saying he has no idea and is going to try his hardest to avoid it by not “plan[ing] to find out for as long as possible.”  The last part about Clara jumping in just can’t happen in the show.  What a writer says in one interview isn’t part of the show, it’s just an idea, or in Moffat’s case, serious back tracking after realizing he made an entire series impossible.  Seriously, am I now expected to just go and say, oh yeah, the Doctor, the character who up until the past two series has always relied on his intellect (not his magic wand, I mean screw driver to cover up lazy writing) to figure things out all of a sudden has been wrong about himself?  Come on, that’s just lame.  The whole part about being able to change the future if it hasn’t happened in the Doctor’s past makes no sense.  If he never dies at Trenzalore then there’s never a time stream, simple as that, it really is that simple but Moffat just doesn’t get it and continues to expect us all to blindly follow his nonsense.

I leave you now with what Moffat told me, written in the same style as Moffat’s quote:

“MOFFAT: I have no idea how to write a time travel show. I say things and write things and if they make sense awesome if not, well who the hell cares, I’m still getting paid to write nonsense and nobody seems to care much so screw it, I’ll do this as long as I can. Sure, over five seasons of Fringe they managed to write a show with multiple time lines and dimensions and it all made sense but whatever. Yeah, I know series 7 is impossible now and I wasted your time on Dinosaurs on a Fraking Spaceship and making it a point for Amy to tell the Doctor how he doesn’t kill people even though he blew up innocent people in The Power of Three, but hey, I’ll just continue with my smug attitude and keep telling everyone how clever I am.”

**Note, if my quote sounds familiar it’s because I also used it on The Doctor Who Hub page on Facebook, which I highly suggest following.

